Easy / Pudding

Coffee Creme Brulee *CHEAT*

 
 
Creme Brulee is another of those recipes, that I have avoided, despite my love for them. I found a recipe which didn’t involve a water bath and thought I would make just enough for me and the mister. 
 
The ingredients are as follows:
 
  • 300g single cream
  • 3 tsp coffee granules
  • 5 tbs sugar
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 2 tbs plain flour
  • 1/2 tbsp brandy
 
Put the cream, coffee granules and 2.5 tbs of sugar in a pan and warm gently until all dissolved, resist the temptation to drink this mixture after smelling the lovely coffee smells. 
 
Beat the egg yolks and flour together to make a smooth paste in a large bowl, slowly add the coffee cream until smooth and then return to the pan. Heat the whole mixture very gently for 5-10 minutes until it thickens. Stir in the brandy and divide into your bowls/pots. Leave to cool, then cover and chill overnight. 
 
When ready to serve, sprinkle with the remaining sugar, caramelise under the grill or with a blow torch until brown. Allow to cool, crack the crust with the back of your spoon and sink into the yummy custard beneath. 
 
Not quite the traditional perfection, but I will be brave another time!

2 thoughts on “Coffee Creme Brulee *CHEAT*

  1. Pingback: To Bake List | Riverside Baking

  2. Pingback: Angel Food Cake in a Bundt Tin | Riverside Baking

I always love to hear from you, leave me a little message here