Dinners

Quiche Lorraine

After my previous semi-successful quiche, I thought I’d try one again. 

 
So I made pastry from scratch again and decided on Quiche Lorraine (I was expecting two men at dinner and didn’t want to risk anything vegetarian) the recipe I used was from Mary Berry’s Complete Cookbook. Unfortunately the recipe is not online, but it’s well varied cook book if you’ve been considering it, I can recommend it. 
 
This time I brushed the inside of my pastry case with egg to help avoid leakages, but to no avail, It still had a leak. I think I need to perfect my pastry before I trust it with fillings, I saw a tip on GBBO the other day where they used the offcuts of pastry to push it into the edges, it worked well. I think I’ll scour the web for more pastry tips next time.  
 
I still tasted meaty and eggy but I think Mary would say over baked and of course it had a soggy bottom from the leak! 
No star baker for me this week.
 
 

One thought on “Quiche Lorraine

  1. Pingback: Crumble Topped Mince Pies | Riverside Baking

I always love to hear from you, leave me a little message here