Bake

Apple and Ginger Malt Loaf

DSC02028

Have I got a bake for you sweethearts, yes I have and its awesooommmmmmeeeee. Sorry I’ve been watching way too much food network, anyone else?

But seriously folks, this was a challenge for me, but now I’ve got it right (yes this took multiple experiments) I am super excited to share it with you.

This recipe uses Apple and Ginger Belvoir Cordial, which adds a new spicy, warming element to a traditional malt loaf. whilst you are waiting for the dough to prove make yourself up some hot cordial, it’s dreamy. If you are not a ginger fan this would work with Belvoir’s Luscious Lemon Cordial, or go fruity and try the Rose and Raspberry – also amazing as a hot drink.

I’m loving these cordials as a grown up treat on hot days, perfect when you want something special but don’t necessarily want to head for the gin and tonic. I love water, but sometimes you need something a little different, these cordials do it for me. Especially after exercise, mmmmmm.

I had to cut mine up and hide it in the freezer as even the failed attempts were so yummy they disappeared between the two of us… oops!

Ingredients

  • 12g unsalted butter, softened plus extra for greasing
  • 1 tbsp malt extract (Holland and Barrett sell it)
  • 1 tbsp golden syrup
  • 175g strong white bread flour
  • 50g wholemeal flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 7g (one sachet) yeast
  • 110g dried fruit, I used a mixture of sultanas and cherries.
  • 100ml warm belvoir cordial (75ml cordial and 25ml hot water) plus extra for brushing over the top.

Equipment

500g loaf tin

Method

  1. Get prepped – measure out your ingredients, brew cordial and grease the tin. In a small saucepan, heat the butter, golden syrup and malt extract until combined and runny. Set aside to cool.
  2. In a large bowl, sift the flours together, add the salt, yeast and dried fruit. Stir to combine – this helps stop the fruit sinking. Now slowly stir in the malt and cordial until the mixture in dough like. I get my hands in there and get messy, but you could use dough hooks if you prefer. THe dough should be moist but still come together in one piece.
  3. Tip your dough out into a floured surface and kneed for 5 minutes. Roll your dough into a cylinder slightly shorter than your tin. Leave the tin in a warm place covered with a tea towel for one hour and uncovered for another hour.
  4. Meanwhile, drink that hot cordial I mentioned earlier and heat the oven to 190’c, bake the loaf for 25-35 minutes until goldne brown on top and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. As soon as it comes out the oven, brush the top with neat cordial until it is shiny and pretty.
  5. Leave to cool in the tin for 5 minutes before removing from the tin. Allow to cool for as long as you can, at least ten minutes or slicing will be difficult.

Spread with butter, cream cheese, lotus biscuit spread or dip into another cup of hot cordial – sounds weird but it works (but don’t try it if you’ve already spreaded).

I’m entering this recipe into this month’s No Waste Food Challenge, run by the lovely Turquoise Lemons because the theme is spirits and cordials!

NWFC

5 thoughts on “Apple and Ginger Malt Loaf

  1. I recently had a go at making a malt loaf but I was far from impressed with the result. I was looking for something nice and moist like the ‘Soreen’ malt loaves but it turned out rather more cake like. Do you have any tips for producing a really moist loaf?

  2. This sounds fabulous! My mum’s apple tree is looking laden this year so I think I will be testing this recipe in the Autumn especially as my mum is a big fan of ginger. Thank you so much for entering the No Waste Food Challenge.

I always love to hear from you, leave me a little message here

