Bake

Chocolate Eclairs

 
 
Choux Pastry, difficult, right? WRONG! and I ballsed it up to be begin with and they still came out great. I tried to half the recipe, except only halved the butter – queue manic butter melting and adding at the last minute. 
 
Now I know my eclairs are not the most uniform or pretty shaped, but I honestly think the piping is the worst bit, next time I’ll make profiteroles. 
 
To make my choux Pastry,  (makes about 12 eclairs) you will need:
 
100g plain flour
50g butter or margarine
pinch of salt
2 whole eggs and 1 yolk. 
 
(if you want to make Chocolate eclairs you will also need chocolate and whipping cream) 
 
 
Lightly grease a baking sheet, and then run under a tap and allow the excess to drip off – this helps make some steam in the oven. Preheat your oven to 220’c 
 
Put 250ml water in a saucepan and add the butter or margarine and the salt, heat gently until the fat melts. Whilst this is happening, sift your flour twice (once onto greaseproof paper and once into a bowl to save on washing up). When the fat has melted, bring the liquid to the boil quickly and add all the flour, remove the pan from the heat and stir like crazy to make a smooth paste that leave the sides of the pan.
 
Add the egg yolk and beat well, then add the two whole eggs one at a time, don’t be alarmed if it looks like the top, left picture above, keep beating and it will begin to look like the top right picture, smooth and shiny!
 
Get your piping bag ready and pipe into eclair shapes onto your prepared baking tray, run a fork dipped in hot water over the top to make them an even shape. 
 
Bake in the oven for 10 minutes and then lower the temperature to 180’c (I have an OLD oven and had to open the door to help this process) bake for another 20 minutes or until risen and browned (golden brown not light brown). 
 
Remove the eclairs from the oven and split open, then allow to cool completely on a wire rack.
 
 
 
To make chocolate eclairs, fill with freshly whipped cream and top with melted chocolate. 
 
As you can see below some of mine are different, I had some chai frosting left over from making these and decided to fill some with it – surprisingly we preferred them!
 
 
 
Have you tried making choux pastry? Which fillings did you do?
If not, don’t be afraid, I am by no means a patisserie chef and I honestly found this easier than macaroons or tempering chocolate!

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Eclairs

  1. Thanks for stopping by! Well, now I've tried it I completely agree, my theory is they want to keep it to themselves 😉 I'm looking forward to trying profiteroles next and then on to Croquembouche . . . maybe!

  2. Pingback: Homemade Christmas Gift Five – Chocolate Ginger Truffles | Riverside Baking

  3. Pingback: To Bake List – Page Two | Riverside Baking

  4. Pingback: Raspberry and Rose Cupcakes | Riverside Baking

I always love to hear from you, leave me a little message here

