Bake / Cakes / Low Fat

Surprise Ingredient Mini Loaves

I’ve been on a bit of a health kick recently, I am going on holiday to America soon (for the first time!!!!!!!) and I want to be able to eat what I want (within reason) and not worry. I’m also very interested in how we can all indulge our sweet tooth’s and love of baking without feeling too guilty or unhealthy. 
 
I have been exploring the use of alternative ingredients as I am not keen on using sugar replacers etc. I had a friend coming over for tea who is watching her weight, some left over sweet potato in the fridge and a recipe which I adapted to make these little sweet potato mini loaves. YUM!
 
 
If you would like to make these, the recipe is as follows, makes 10 (60ml) mini loaves
 
75g unsalted butter, softened
200g sweet potatoes, diced
75g light soft brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
pinch salt
1 medium egg
150g self raising flour
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking powder
4 tbs flaked almonds.
 
Cook the diced sweet potato for 10-12 minutes until tender, drain, mash and leave to cool.
 
Grease your mini loaf tins, or use disposable ones like me! Preheat the oven to 160’c and have a cup of tea whilst the potato cools.
 
Place the butter, sugar, salt, vanilla extract, egg and sweet potato in your mixer (or a bowl) sift in the flour, baking powder and cinnamon. Beat well by hand or with your mixer until smooth and creamy.
 
Divide between your loaf tins and scatter each with a few almonds. Put in the oven for 20 minutes until firm to touch. 
 
Allow to cool, then much away!
 
 
 
If you fancy trying some surprise ingredients how about my Chocolate Brownies or Red Velvet Cupcakes 
 
 
 
 

One thought on “Surprise Ingredient Mini Loaves

  1. Pingback: To Bake List – Page Two | Riverside Baking

I always love to hear from you, leave me a little message here