Bake / Dinners

Twice Baked Cheese Souffle

I recently spent a lovely long weekend in Derbyshire to celebrate mine and Mr Riverside Senior’s Birthdays. Grammatically cumbersome and possibly wrong, sorry.

As it was a special birthday, we cooked a very special three course meal for Mr Riverside Senior and I was in charge of starter and dessert.

As they went so well, I wanted to share the recipes with you. Both are recipes that once upon a time I wouldn’t have thought I was capable of and skipped past in books/online. No longer, since starting to cook more often, I am willing to take on every challenge and the success/failure that ensues.

My starter was twice baked cheese souffle

IMG_1723[1]

I used this great recipe: http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/3028701/threecheese-souffls which has a step by step guide, but because of the horrendous calorie content and the fact that we were having three courses, I omitted the goats cheese.

I also adapted the recipe for 3 but because our ramekins weren’t quite 200ml we ended up with 3 and a runt – perfect taste taster for the chefs!

IMG_1722[1]

When they come out the oven the first time they look like proper puffy souffles, but quickly sink – don’t worry you are going to invert them and they will look pretty as ever.

If any of you are souffle virgins, this is the recipe to give in to, I thoroughly recommend it. If you try it let me know how yours turn out.

I was surprised the night before with this beautiful cake lovingly made by Mr Riverside Senior, his first sponge cake and a fabulous one it was too.

IMG_1719[1]

Surprise cakes are the best don’t you think?

3 thoughts on “Twice Baked Cheese Souffle

  1. Coffee and walnut cake is my favourite, and that looks amazing. The cheese souffles look good too, I know what you mean about feeling more confident in the kitchen and giving things a go.

  2. Pingback: Delia’s Spotted Dick | Riverside Baking

  3. Pingback: Delia’s Spotted Dick | Riverside Baking

I always love to hear from you, leave me a little message here

