Bake / Breakfast

Sausage and Cheese Muffins

A few weeks ago, just after my post waxing lyrical about parkrun, it was the 3rd birthday party of the parkrun I attend. To celebrate the occasion they held a bake and share after the run. Now, I have a sweet tooth but after a run I like something a bit more wholesome, or at least something which masquerades as more wholesome.

DSC01780

I have to be honest for my breakfast that day I did eat two of these muffins and a chocolate cupcake, my only excuse being that it would be rude not to after everyone had put so much love into baking them.

These are perfect brunch fodder and a really nice alternative to sweet muffins. I tucked into one whilst they were still hot. Mmmm Sausagey! If you are a cooked breakfast aficionado these would be a nice alternative to bread to mop up all the baked bean and fried tomato juices… not that I’m talking from experience or anything.

DSC01770

Ingredients – Makes 12

  • 225g sausages or sausagemeat
  • 1 small onion, grated
  • 300g plain flour
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • couple of grinds of pepper
  • 175ml milk (I used semi skimmed)
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 50g melted butter
  • 50g mature cheddar, grated.

DSC01778

Method

Preheat the oven to 190’c and line a muffin tin with cases or silicon cases like me for the naked muffin look!

Take the skin off your sausages if using. Fry the sausage meat in a large frying pan, breaking up into smaller pieces as it cookies. after 8-10 minutes all the small pieces should be cooked through and golden. Use a slotted spoon to put the sausagemeat onto some kitchen paper to cool and add the onion to the pan. Cook the onion in the sausage fat for 3-4 minutes or until softened. Remove the pan from the heat and put the onions to one side.

Mix your dry ingredients: the flour, baking powder, salt and pepper in a large bowl. In a separate jug mix the wet ingredients: milk, egg and melted butter, then pour into the flour, add the sausagemeat, onion and cheese. Mix briefly with a wooden spoon until just combined.

Use a large ice cream scoop to divide the mixture between the muffin cases and bake for about 20 minutes until golden and a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.

 DSC01775

These are great warm or we ate them cold the next day for breakfast which was super. In future I think I’d add some dried herbs to the mixture.

Have you done any savoury baking?

10 thoughts on “Sausage and Cheese Muffins

  1. Finally – a muffin my boyfriend would go CRAZY for! They look amazing. My parkrun is having a birthday party soon too, I don’t think there’s a bake organised though. Maybe I’ll just bring cupcakes anyway!

  2. I never think to make savoury versions of typically sweet things (what can I say, sugar is my weakness!) but these sound really good. Would be great to grab and go for breakfast in the morning.

  3. Pingback: Pork, Apple and Thyme Muffins – Wheat Free | Riverside Baking

I always love to hear from you, leave me a little message here