Cupcakes

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

A recipe for 6 Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 6 cornets
  • 65g butter
  • 65g caster sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 65g self raising flour
  • 1 1/2 tbsp milk
  • 3 flakes broken in halves

NB: this looks like not enough mixture in the bowl but looks much better in the cones.

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180′c
  2. Mix the butter and caster sugar together until smooth, then add the egg, then vanilla, then flour and milk alternately.
  3. Place the cones in the oven on a tray and bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden.
  4. Top with buttercream swirled and half a flake


This recipe came out marvellously – they looked just like ice cream (the boys were convinced it was, until they bit into it!) I didn’t bother with flakes but sprinkles worked just as well. The mixture rose well in the cones. I put the mixture into the cones using an ice cream scoop and it worked a treat.


I tried one a day later and they were still flavoursome, moist and lovely. I would make these again for any Children’s or adults party, I have been thinking of variations:

  1. Chocolate – adding cocoa
  2. Pistachio – with ground pistachios and green colouring
  3. Rum and raisin
  4. Strawberry  - with pink food colouring. 
Looking forward to making these again, does anyone have any other ideas for variations?

6 thoughts on “Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

  1. these look great. I have been wanting to make cupcake cones for a while now, but I'm not able to find those cones in Norway. I'm going to London in a few months and I'm wondering if you know where I can buy them there…??

  2. Hi, Most of the supermarkets here do them, I get mine at Sainsbury's(www.sainsburys.co.uk)or waitrose(www.waitrose.com). They are normally really helpful, I'm sure if you call/e-mail a branch near where you will be staying they'll put some to one side for you. There is 21 in each box.Your cakes look amazing, when I get home I'll have a good read of your blog :)Happy Baking!Stephanie

      • It was quite random – I couldn’t find a recipe so I just made it up by making buttercream and adding red adzuki beans that I got from an asian supermarket. I made a standard victoria sponge too and added ground up loose green tea (wizzed up in a coffee/spice grinder thingy). They were unusual but tasty!

I always love to hear from you, leave me a little message here

